I want to write about Tough Tits ; no fucks given and none taken

14519914_881069365327108_7599215591068197815_n

I recall stories of Earth early on. How for their first show in London, Dylan Carlson just leant his guitar against the amplifer and went back into the audience to sit down. After 45 minutes he got up again, and switched the amp off. Never figured out if the story was true, never wanted to find out either. I recall reviewing their second album and thinking that music like this was as simple, primeval as it gets. Not an insult. Don’t touch that setting if you’re happy with it. When I used to get up at the Living Room in ’82 and shout my way through songs I had written on one string, one note earlier that day, I had a fierce hankering to form a band with eight bass-players all playing the same note.

I have no idea what Tough Tits are singing about but I’ll be frank with you. They sound to me like the Frumpies, and that’s to the good. Feral, like Lady B. It’s boomy and basic and got some synth action going on in there somewhere, and the vocals are reverbed and annoyed and it pushes all the right buttons. Repetition, and a determination to fuck the patriarchy.

Grimy not grime. But could be grime anyway, WTF?!

This quote from Line of Best Fit seems to have got it straight.

What makes you angry? And what makes you happy?
Angry: Theresa May and her little Tory piglets. The misinterpretation of the feminist ideology.
Happy: Beers, queers and our little titties.

This song here is as good as any song there that you might have heard. Richard Kern good, you hear what I’m sayin’? Nasty.

Hey, you still here? Slip a few inches to the right, and you’ll be able to see BIG TITS DANCING watch bouncing tits…so sexy or perhaps Deelishis twerking in a see through dress 😍😍. Each to their own. I prefer my tits much tougher. From Newcastle, and yeah. That fits nicely with my memories of the city. Their name does mean of course that every interviewer from here to infinity is gonna ask ‘ironic’ boob questions…I had me a hankering to interview the ladies just so I could NOT DO THAT but (shrugs). Let’s face it. They might dig the Qs.

That video btw is halfway between this and this. Not really no, not even vaguely, but who said math can’t be fun?

I cannot believe, however, that in 2016 music writers are still shitting their spotty asses trying to (still uselessly) describe music when you can just…

No fucks given, and none taken.

3 Responses to I want to write about Tough Tits ; no fucks given and none taken

  1. […] Should’a ought’a really throw this one in the mix. It slipped through the net last time, should’na ought’na really not have done. Tough Tits. Here is (some of) what I wrote last time round. I have no idea what Tough Tits are singing about but I’ll be frank with you. They sound to me like the Frumpies, and that’s to the good. Feral, like Lady B. It’s boomy and basic and got some synth action going on in there somewhere, and the vocals are reverbed and annoyed and it pushes all the right buttons. Repetition, and a determination to fuck the patriarchy. (I want to write about Tough Tits ; no fucks given and none taken) […]

  2. […] that on the press release for this new single (‘Anxious’ b/w ‘No Know’) I don’t get a sniff. Line of Best Fit, Louder than War, Vice, The Quietus… oh yeah baby. Not us individuals […]

Leave a Reply

