Shout out to my ex

New music. There is always more new music then anyone can compartmentalise.

This is as it should be. If I fail to push new music your way this is a failure on my part, not the music’s. This is true of anyone writing about music, anyone who holds a cluster of keys to treasure chests in their grimy, slimy hands. If I fail to push new music your way this is an indication that my aural senses have packed up (momentarily, hopefully) not that there is no choice out there. (Please do not confuse good with bad. Unnecessary and uncalled-for.) Also, listening to old music, even old music that you are incredibly familiar with, is like listening to new music. The circumstances change, the context, the numbers of cups of coffee drunk.

Can you do me a favour, you relative handful of a reader? Please comment on this post – and here, not on Facebook. Leave one recommendation or more behind and begin to overload my synapses. Pass this post on to another, and ask them to do the same. Make it a pyramid, make it a bar chart, make it human. My son playing his trumpet is new music. New music is new music. Ed Sheeran is new music. Beyoncé giving birth is new music. There are no hard and fast rules here. Maybe that is what people want? Hard and fast rules. Maybe that is what successful music criticism is: hard and fast rules. Please. Do it.

Break out the compartments. And spread the word. Always.

37 Responses to Shout out to my ex

  1. Anonymous says:

  2. Eric Jarvis says:

    Currently I am bigging up The Assist. They are from that hotbed of rock and roll, Wallsall, and I saw them a couple of years ago when they were very raw. I suggested they let the reggae element of what they do have the space to breathe rather than being hidden away under a standard indie schtick. Not only did they listen, they did it in spades and are now making some seriously groovy eclectic pop songs.

  3. Joseph Kyle says:

    I’m loving the music of SassyBlack, formerly one-half of THEESatisfaction. https://sassyblack.bandcamp.com

  4. Anonymous says:

    I was going to post some music by Mary Lattimore, but will go with Dee Walker, as it is never too far away from my thoughts. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jltmc8aEYVs

  5. Anonymous says:

    Cindy Lee. No wave meets 60s girl group heaven. Sometimes in the same song.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Farai. Best. “I roll with the Hell’s Angels…”

  7. everetttrue says:

    Some great responses to this blog already. Love to have more.

  8. Anonymous says:

    A favourite from last year. Kamaiyah.

  9. Horatio Alger says:

    I’m liking this right now.

  10. Andrew O says:

    Gurr – #1985. Liliput/Liechtenstein…Gurr!

  11. Caspar Jacobs says:

    I’m absolutely in love with Big Thief’s new album right now:

    Also, Aldous Harding:

    And for something more up tempo, have you already heard the new Terry? If not, you have to ask Chris (Upset the Rhythm) right away!

  12. Caspar Jacobs says:

    One more: School Damage. Think The Twerps, Terry, Goon Sax – but different.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Dreamtrak.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Blank Statements. Hints of Cannanes, Melody Dog, Marine Girls and more. But definitely its own thing.
    https://hobbiesgalore.bandcamp.com/album/signs-are-rampant

  15. Anonymous says:

    Suburban Lawns – Janitor. I love it! New discovery for me. https://g.co/kgs/RYu79w

  16. Tim Footman says:

    A week ago I caught the back of the debut gig by a bunch of noisy teenagers called My First Moustache, in the middle of the afternoon at a food festival in Croydon. They have two drummers and lots of scowls and effects pedals. They will probably fall apart before December but for a few minutes they were the best thing in the world.

  17. Geoff The Postman says:

    Ana Threat (Austria)




    https://anathreat.bandcamp.com/track/sleep-sleep

    Group A (Japan)

    Los Blancos (USA)

    Nova Twins (UK)

    Kristy & The Kraks (Austria)
    https://totallywiredrecords.bandcamp.com/track/be-nice

    Werecats (UK)
    https://werecats.bandcamp.com/track/princess-fuckface

    Bobkat 65 (Spain)

    The Blood Tub Orchestra (UK)

    Suicide Generation (UK)
    https://suicidegeneration666.bandcamp.com/releases

    Chrome Reverse (France)

    The Cavemen (New Zealand)

  18. Geoff The Postman says:

    One more from me. Not very recent (these tracks are all from 2012) and, to be honest, their second LP, released last year, was a bit of a disappointment, but I’m posting it because when ET first started writing about all those Seattle bands at the end of the 80s, I had an idea from what he he had written what to expect from them. When I eventually got to hear and see these bands, they were not what I’d imagined at all, much more plodding and trad rock than I’d hoped for. Years later, when I first heard this band, I realised they were exactly what I thought Nirvana, Mudhoney et al were going to be.

    PAINT FUMES

  19. […] The other quote is from my 1980s dancing accomplice, Geoff the Postman (find other amazing recommendations here): […]

  20. Anonymous says:

    heartburst

  21. […] down to the absolute minimum, just the music and hardly any words. Also, see this recent post on Everett True’s blog for much more music […]

  22. Bhagpuss says:

    The Venopian Solitude is the singer, not the band.

Leave a Reply

